Installation issues

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
Jan 18, 2011 at 1:24 PM

Hey Dominic - Bonjour!

First of all - you and your team did a fantastic job - really appreciate the hard work :)

My concern is that I need a serious help man for the installation of LCSK as I am not an expert into MVC...

I have read the previous discussion and got your video (http://dominicstpierre.net/archive/2007/08/26/livechat-starter-kit-installing-the-september-2007-beta-video.aspx) but not more there...

Do you have some more documentation ?

Thanks in advance.

Coordinator
Jan 18, 2011 at 4:25 PM

Hi,

Thanks you, glad the product is helpful.

The 1.0 version will only work on an ASP.NET MVC enable website. That does not mean your main application should be an MVC application at first. Couple of option here, because I'm assuming the question is "How to install LCSK on a standard ASP.NET WebForms app" ?

First option would be to allow MVC into your existing application, that will be easy if you have a Web Application project type not an ASP.NET WebSite project type. You know this if you have App_Code folder you have a WebSite project type.

If you have an Application check this out from Scott Hanselman : http://www.hanselman.com/blog/IntegratingASPNETMVC3IntoExistingUpgradedASPNET4WebFormsApplications.aspx 

If you have a WebSite project type, the longest route would be to transfer to an Application type project and integrate MVC into it.

Or create a blank MVC 3 app and install LCSK into it.

You might check the Documentation tab as well for documentation.

Hope it's help,

Dominic

Jan 19, 2011 at 10:02 AM
Edited Jan 19, 2011 at 10:03 AM

Hi Dominic, Thanks for your quick reply.

I am getting some issue while settings the connectionString and implementing the database.

I will explain from the starting:

-          As per your recommendation I have installed ASP.NET MVC 3 on my server 2008 64bit running Visual Studio 2010,